Forever Young

How old am I?
Let me tell you my friend,
I am as old as the sky and the trees,
But also, young as a bird hatching.
I have survived many storms, and seen many springs.
I have loved, and still love madly.

Does it matter?
That my once dancing feet need support,
That the auburn of my hair has turned grey,
That the blue of my eyes has faded away,
That all that was kept, has begun to fray..

I have survived many storms, and seen many springs.
I know all things come to an end.
But please, don’t abandon me.

-Dedicated to my Grandmother, Kada.

© Diana Ganić

Leave a Reply

